Visva-Bharati University Faculty Association

Election Notice

The elections for the following office bearers and members of the Executive Committee of Visva-Bharati University Faculty Association (henceforth referred to as VBUFA) for 2023-2024 will be held on March 27, 2024

- 1. President.
- 2. Two Vice-Presidents
- 3. Secretary.
- 3. Treasurer.

- 4. Three Joint Secretaries
- 5. Cultural Secretary.
- 6. Ten other members.

Voting system

The elections will be held by secret ballot and 'first past the post', non-transferable vote system. Each eligible voter shall cast votes for 19 or less candidates: one for the post of 'President', two for the posts of 'Vice-Presidents', one for the post of 'Secretary', one for the post of 'Treasurer', three for the posts of 'Joint Secretaries', one for the post of 'Cultural Secretary' and ten for Executive Committee members other than office bearers. Any ballot where more than 19 votes have been registered shall be cancelled. If for any position more votes are registered by a voter than the number stipulated above, the votes cast for that position by that voter shall not be counted. For example, if any voter votes for two candidates for the post of treasurer, his/her votes for the post of treasurer shall be invalid.

Schedule

The following is the schedule for the election.

- > 15.03.2024, Friday (5.00 pm): Publication of exhaustive list of eligible voters
- > 18.03.2024, Monday (5.00 pm): Correction of voter list (if any).
- > 19.03.2024, Tuesday (5.00 pm): Preparation of the final voter list and display of the same (offline) in Commission's office (Department of Computer and System Sciences, Shiksha-Bhavana)
- > 20.03.2024 (Wed (5.00 pm)) to 21.03.2024 (Thurs (5.00 pm)): Fill up the nomination form.
- > 22.03.2024, Friday (5.00 pm): Withdraw of the nomination.
- 26.03.2024, Tuesday (5.00 pm): Candidates and/or a maximum of one representative per candidate may be present at the time of scrutiny. The eligible candidates' list will be published immediately after scrutiny and be available at the election office.
- > 27.03.2024, Wednesday: Election (Election venue and time to be notified in due course)
- > 27.03.2024, Wednesday (5.00 pm): Counting of votes and declaration of results thereafter. Candidates and/or one representative each may be present at the counting venue.

CHEIF ELECTION COMMISSIONER

Prof. Samar Saha Department of Zoology, Shiksha -Bhavana (M. No. 9434182141) Prof. Paramartha Dutta Department of Computer and System Sciences, Shiksha-Bhavana

(M. No. 8017963521)

Prof. Premangshu Chakrabarty

Department of Geography, Vidya-Bhavana

(M. No. 9433015212)